There are a range of heritage buildings and structures dotted around Centennial Parklands that tell the rich and fascinating story of both the Parklands and the nation.
The Dickens Drive Bridge was built in the 1890s by the NSW Government’s Public Works Department. The historic sandstone bridge is located near the Centennial Park's Brazilian Fields and Rose Garden.
Located adjacent to Centennial Park's McKay Fields, the historic Fairland Pavilion was designed by architects Charles and Sid Hurst and built with funding from the Unemployment Relief Council during the 1930s.
Centennial Park’s Federation Pavilion was built on the site of the 1901 proclamation of the Federal Constitution of Australia as part of the nation’s 1988 Bicentenary celebrations.
Frog Hollow Bridge was built by the NSW Public Works Department in the 1890s. You will find it located near Centennial Park's Brazilian Fields.
Centennial Park's Lily Pond Bridge was built in the 1890s by the NSW Public Works Department. In more recent times, it has become popular with wedding photographers.
The Moore Park Golf House was first opened in 1926 and is situated within the grounds of the Moore Park Golf course. The heritage listed building houses a restaurant, bar and function room.
Designed and built by W.J. Henley in 1909, the Moore Park Rotunda was constructed as a bandstand. Its design is in keeping with the structures popular with devotees of the Picturesque garden style.
Built in the 1860s, the Moore Park Toll House is a rare example of a Victorian, gothic-style sandstone toll house. This remarkable building is the only surviving metropolitan toll house in NSW.
Located in the centre of Centennial Park near Randwick Pond, the Vernon Pavilion is one of a pair of similar structures designed by Walter Vernon, the other is situated in the Royal Botanic Garden.
Situated near Centennial Park’s Robertson Road Gates, the Rangers Residence was designed by the NSW Government Architect, Walter Vernon in the European Arts and Craft style.
Built in 1892 and located near Centennial Park’s Paddington Gates, the Superintendents Residence is an example of a 19th century Victorian-style residence.
Built in 1907, this rare timber weather station was recently discovered in Centennial Park. The weather station has been completely restored and is now open to be viewed by visitors to the Park.
If you would like to learn more about the history and heritage of Centennial Parklands, please contact the Parklands Office on (02) 9339 6699 or email us.