Skip to content


The Centennial Park and Moore Park Trust has a board of Trustees, who are responsible to the Minister for Environment and Heritage, for overseeing the strategic objectives and policy direction of the organisation.

Most notably in the areas of:

  • maintaining and improving Trust lands;
  • encouraging the use and enjoyment of Trust lands by the public by promoting and increasing the recreational, historical, scientific, educational, cultural and environmental value of those lands;
  • ensuring the protection of the environment within Trust lands; and
  • maintaining the right of the public to the use of Trust lands.

The Trustees meet between six and eight times per year for full Trust meetings, and are also involved in a number of sub-committees relating to finance and audit.

Below is a list of the current Trustees. A list of former Trustees can be found here.

Current Trustees

Mr Brian Schwartz AM - Chairman

Appointed: 27 February 2019
Position Expiry: 26 February 2022

Mr Schwartz is the non-executive Chairman of the Scentre Group and was recently appointed non-executive director of Guardian Early Learning Group. He was previously a non-executive director and Deputy Chairman of Westfield Corporation, Chairman of IAG, Deputy Chairman of the Football Federation of Australia, and Deputy President of the Australian Museum.


Ms Ita Buttrose AO, OBE

Appointed: 1 March 2012
Position Expiry: 29 February 2020

Ms Ita Buttrose is an accomplished communicator advising corporate, community and welfare organisations and has a wealth of experience across a broad range of industry sectors. She combines many roles – businesswoman, journalist and author. She is also national ambassador Alzheimer’s Australia, having served as national president from 2011-14; patron of the Macular Disease Foundation and Emeritus Director of Arthritis Australia. She is a founding member and former president of Chief Executive Women and a Member of the Sydney Symphony Council. Ms Buttrose was the 2013 Australian of the Year. In 2014 Macquarie University conferred an Honorary Doctor of Letters on Ms Buttrose for her contribution to the Arts. In 2015, she was conferred an Honorary Doctor of Letters by the University of Wollongong for her contribution to mental health and ageing. She has had a distinguished media career. She was the Founding Editor of Cleo Magazine, the youngest-ever editor of The Australian Women’s Weekly, and the first woman to edit a major metropolitan newspaper in Australia when appointed Editor-in-Chief of the Daily & Sunday Telegraphs. As a Centennial Park local, Ms Buttrose is a frequent visitor to Centennial Park and formerly served as a Trustee from 1993 to 1996.


Ms Fiona de Jong, LLB (Hons), BIT, AMP (Harvard)

Appointed: 1 January 2015
Position Expiry: 31 December 2022

Fiona is Head of Australia’s Nation Brand at Austrade, leading the Australian Government’s most ambitious global brand platform - to develop a unifying nation brand for Australia and its expression across government, private sector and community in order to inspire the world to visit, study, invest and do business with Australia. Fiona is a former triathlete and lawyer with 12 years’ in Olympic sport administration.  As the CEO and Director of Sport at the Australian Olympic Committee she delivered 10 Australian Olympic Team campaigns – 3 summer, 3 winter and 4 youth Olympic Teams - in 9 countries, making Olympic dreams a reality for over 1600 Australian athletes. Prior to sport, Fiona was an IT lawyer with law firm Blake Dawson Waldron (now Ashursts) and implemented eCommerce projects with leading funds manager Colonial First State. Fiona holds degrees in Law (Hons), Information Technology and is a graduate of the Harvard Business School Advanced Management Program. She is a board member of Surfing Australia, Governor of the Centennial Parklands Foundation, and former member of the AOC Executive, Australian Olympic Foundation, Olympic Winter Institute of Australia, International Olympic Committee (IOC) Marketing Commission and various IOC and sports advisory boards. As a recreational athlete, Fiona enjoys running and cycling in the Parklands and lives locally with her husband and young son.


Ms Nina Murray (CCC Representative)

Appointed: 13 June 2018
Position Expiry: 12 June 2020

Nina Murray is the Chair of the Centennial Parklands Community Consultative Committee. She is an avid park user and has run, picnicked, dog walked, watched movies, scootered and cycled in and around Centennial and Moore Parks for more than 20 years. She is particularly interested in the visitor experience to the Park and in the promotion of its place in the life of Sydney. In this way she hopes to help its enhancement and preservation by helping to strengthen its voice in the community. She enjoys playing an active part of the local community, has been involved in many school events, local groups and is also a Red Cross Emergency Volunteer. Nina is currently involved in a start-up and is also a banking consultant, previously having worked at Macquarie Bank and PricewaterhouseCoopers. She graduated locally from UNSW with a BA in Commerce and recently completed her MBA at UTS. She is married and they have two children.


Ms Caroline Gurney

Appointed: 28 June 2017
Position Expiry: 27 June 2019

Caroline Gurney is a Managing Director, Head of Marketing & Corporate Communications, Australasia and Deputy Chief Communication Officer, Asia Pacific at UBS.  She is a member of the UBS Management Committee and a Director of the UBS Australia Foundation.  Prior to joining UBS in 2002, Caroline was Vice President, Director of Corporate Affairs, Asia Pacific for Citibank N.A. Caroline has worked in Singapore, Hong Kong, London and Australia. Caroline is a member of the Ascham School Council; a director of Our Watch; the Advisory Council and the Dean's Circle, UNSW Medicine; and an ambassador for the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation.


Mr Brian Long

Appointed: 28 June 2017
Position Expiry: 27 June 2019

Mr Long is a Fellow of The Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia And New Zealand and is a director of Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Onemarket Limited and Brambles Limited. Prior to his retirement in 2010, Mr Long had been a partner of Ernst & Young since 1981. He was the Chairman of both the Ernst & Young Global Advisory Council (worldwide partner governing body) and of the Oceania Area Advisory Council (local partner governing body). He worked with the firm, primarily serving audit clients in many of the firm’s offices including Sydney, Perth, Toronto and Hong Kong with responsibility for major clients of the firm and specialising in significant transactions, initial public offerings and matters relating to governance and risk management. He is a member of Council of the University of NSW and a director of Cantarella Bros. Pty Ltd


Mr Robert Regan

Appointed: 21 November 2018
Position Expiry: 20 November 2021

Mr Regan is the Partner in Charge of Corrs Chambers Westgarth Sydney and Chairman of national not-for-profit peak body, Painaustralia.